BACK TO HOME PAGE SITE NAVIGATION CONTACT POETRY FORUM STORY FORUM   Horoscope  Radio  Gallery  FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups   Register   Profile   PM's   

General Forum Index -> Accomplishments

And a job! All teachers, please help me!!

Ladies Lifestyle and Living Store
  Author    Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
PipSqueak

And a job! All teachers, please help me!!

I've been offered a place as a class supervisor, based in a tough secondary school, to fill in when teachers are sick. It's great for me as it'll fit in with my son's school times and gives me teaching experience as I put in for teacher training next year.

BUT I have no teaching experience, have run a Guide/Girl Scout group and will get on the job training. I have some classroom experience, a little at the school, but would welcome any advice from teachers on class supervision and websites for activities for those days where I don't get any work left by the missing teacher!! I will be covering any subject Shocked

Thank you for any pearls of wisdom!!!!!!

Post Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:56 pm 
Laurian

All of the above Smile That is a very good post, Pharos.

Just ...
Stay calm
Keep breathing
keep smiling
Try to stay you. They will know when you are acting...

Know the material and know more than that what you are going to teach. It is always nice to have a good anecdote or a weird side story to explain something. I remember when I was talking about the French revolution that I had my class hanging on every word when I started describing the way people were sentenced to death before the arrival of the guillotine. Very Happy
It is an overpowering good feeling to see the kids paying attention. If you don't know the answer to one of their questions and you promised them to look it up, do that. Tell them what you found out even if you didn't find a thing.